The Way I Wear It

I’ve been asked to demonstrate a few ways to wear makeup, and eyeshadow. I’m not the be-all end-all, by any means, but I think it sometimes helps to see different ways to applying makeup, so you can play around with things and find what works for you.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Eye drops to get rid of allergy-induced redness

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps  Moisturizer!

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Eyebrows (I use a brown wax and powder filler, but I’m not entirely sold on it)

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Next up is eyeshadow & mascara. I hold a business card under my eye to catch the worst of the loose powder fall-off. Any remaining fall-off I gently brush off with a tissue.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps With my super dry skin, I use liquid foundation. A little bit goes a long way!

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps I dot foundation on the center parts of my face, then blend them with a foundation brush until I get a more even coverage. Because my skin absorbs things quickly, I work in small sections at a time.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps This is the first check-in. Is my foundation even? Does anything look off, or odd? Fix it now.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

I use a bronzer as contouring powder, for now. I apply to my cheekbones, or where I’d like them to be, from the hairline to just below my nose line.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

I also apply to my forehead hairline & temples, jawline, sides of my nose (into the eyebrow), tip of my nose, and just under my lower lip (which makes it appear more full). I know a lot of tutorials show a line drawn, then blended, but this blending-as-I-go approach works better for me.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

I then apply highlighter (sometimes I do this before contouring) to my lower forehead, middle of my chin, and under my eyes in a wedge shape (to my nostril flares). I super blend this to there’s no edges showing. And I overdid it during this pic-hefty session, but normally I don’t apply quite so much under my eyes, as it’s an area that crinkles a lot.

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

Next up is blush, applied just above the apples of my cheeks, from above my nostril flares to (blended) my eyebrow line. This visually lifts the face!

Then the lippy….and voila!

Printcess Makeup Routine Steps Printcess Makeup Routine Steps

Lastly, I do a photo-check, with horrible indoor lighting and with indirect outdoor lighting, to make sure I haven’t missed a line to blend, or layered highlighter on too heftily, or otherwise given myself a scary face.

Mission accomplished! After some practice, I got this routine down to about 20 minutes total (and less if I skip the Highlighting & Contouring, and just do a light brushing of bronzer over my cheeks).

What about you? Would you recommend I do something different? Got any tips you can share?

Leave a Reply

